Show The Graduate Center Menu




This Noble House














Flatto cover









 
 

Faculty

Find Graduate Center and CUNY faculty doing work in the field of Jewish Studies below.


André Aciman
Graduate Center; Comparative Literature, French
 Office phone: 212-817-8170
 aaciman@gc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Memory, Diaspora, Sephardic Studies, 17th Century


Isaac Alteras
Queens College; History
 Office phone:718-997-5373
 isaac.alteras@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      US-Israeli relations, modern Jewish history


Allan Amanik
Brooklyn College; Judaic Studies
 Office phone: 718-951-5000 (x3993)
 aamanik@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
     
American Jewish History


Sharon Avni
BMCC:  Department of Academic Literacy and Linguistics
 Office phone: 212-220-1396
 savni@bmcc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Hebrew learning and Jewish education, Jewish ethnography, summer camping, Hebrew charter schools, religious literacy and discourse, language socialization and ideology



Elissa Bemporad
Queens College; History
 Office phone:718-997-5365
 elissa.bemporad@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Russian and Eastern European Jewish history, gender, genocide studies


Yitzhak Berger
Hunter College; Hebrew Division
 Office phone: 212-772-5058
 bergeryd@hotmail.com
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Biblical interpretation; biblical narrative


Randolph Braham
Graduate Center; Holocaust Studies
Professor Emeritus
 Office phone: 212-817-1949
 rbraham@gc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Hungarian Holocaust Studies


Francesca Bregoli
Queens College; History
 Office phone:718-997-5410
 francesca.bregoli@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Early modern Jewish history, eighteenth-century, Italian & Sephardi Jewish history


David Brodsky
Brooklyn College; Judaic Studies
 Office phone:718-951-5000 (x3996)
 dbrodsky@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Talmud


Debra Caplan
Baruch College: Department of Fine and Performing Arts
 Office phone:646-312-4057
 debra.caplan@baurch.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Jewish theater, Yiddish literature, modern Jewish culture


Mikhal Dekel
City College; English & Comparative Literature
 Office phone:Use email
 Mikhal.dekel@gmail.com
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Trauma & memory studies, emotions, Jewish Studies, Modern Hebrew literature


Sharon Flatto
Brooklyn College; Judaic Studies
 Office phone:718.951.5229
 sflatto@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
     
Rabbinic culture, eighteenth-century Prague


Arnold Franklin
 Queens College; History
 Office phone: 718-997-5497
 afranklin@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publications:
      Jewish culture in the medieval Islamic world


Judith Friedlander
Hunter College; Anthropology
 Office phone:212-650-3155
 judith.friedlander@hunter.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Ethnicity and minority cultures, gender and feminist theory; Latin America, US, Europe


Rivka Friedman
Hunter College; Hebrew Division, Classical and Oriental Studies
 Office phone: 212-772-5107
 rfriedma@hunter.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
     
Modern Hebrew Literature


Sandra Gambetti
The College of Staten Island; History
 Office phone: 718-982-2915
 sandra.gambetti@csi.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Hellenistic history, Alexandria, Hellenistic Judaism, Political experience of the Jews in the ancient diaspora, Philo of Alexandria.


Jane S. Gerber
Graduate Center; History, Center for Jewish Studies
 Office phone: 212-817-1946
 gerberjs@aol.com
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Sephardic and Middle Eastern Jewry- particularly medieval-early modern.


Samuel Heilman 
Queens College; Sociology
 Office phone: 718-997-2832
 scheilman@gmail.com


Jack Jacobs
John Jay College, Graduate Center; Political Science
 Office phone: 212-817-8701
 jjacobs@gc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
  
    Jewish socialist and labor movements, Jewish politics in Eastern Europe, the Frankfurt School on Antisemitism and the image of the Jew


Abby Kornfeld
City College of New York, Art & Jewish Studies
 Office phone: 212-650-7090
 akornfeld@ccny.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
      Hebrew Illuminated Manuscripts, Jewish Art, the Medieval Haggadah
 


Amy Kratka
Assistant Director, Jewish Studies Program
City College; Foreign Languages & Literature
 Office phone: 212-650-6790
 KratkaCCNY@yahoo.com
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Postwar and contemporary Jewish American fiction


Sara Reguer
Brooklyn College; Judaic Studies
 Office phone:718-951-5229
 sreguer@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Mandate Palestine/modern Israel, the history of Jewish women, Italian Jewry, and the Jews of the Middle East and North Africa.


Mark Rosenblum
Queens College; History
 Office phone:718-997-5293
 mark.rosenblum@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Modern Middle East, Israeli-Palestinian conflict, conflict resolution


Laura S. Schor
Hunter College; History
 lschor@hunter.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      British Mandate in Palestine


Robert M. Seltzer
Hunter College, Graduate Center; History Department, Hunter Jewish Social Studies Program
 Office phone: 212-772-5490
 rseltzer@hunter.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Jewish historiography, modern Jewish intellectual history, the work of Simon Dubnow


Miryam Segal
Director of Religious Studies Program
Queens College; Hebrew
 Office phone:718-997-5570
 miryam.segal@qc.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      Language politics, Zionism and modern Hebrew literary history; Yiddish and Russian influences on Hebrew literature


Robert Moses Shapiro
Brooklyn College; Judaic Studies
 Office phone: 718-951-5000, ext. 3990
 rshapiro@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:

      East European Jewry, Poland and Polish Jews, Holocaust, Yiddish language and literature, Jewish communal autonomy and organization, Lodz Ghetto


Andrew Sloin 
Baruch College; History
 Office phone:646-312-4317
 Andrew.sloin@baruch.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
  
    European, Russian, and Soviet Jewish history; Soviet Economic History; the History of Socialism and the Left; Marxism and Critical Theory; Historical Memory; Yiddish Culture; and the Holocaust.



 Karen Stern
Brooklyn College; History
 Office phone:718-951-4504
 kstern@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Current interests and/or areas of publication:
  
    Archaeology, history & religion: Mediterranean cultural history & the material culture of Jews in the Greco-Roman world.