Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 
 

Emeritus Faculty

Daniel Bates (PhD U Michigan 1971; Prof Emeritus) Ecological studies, economic and political anthropology; East European minority populations; Middle East(dbates@hunter.cuny.edu)

Edward Bendix (PhD Columbia 1965; Prof) Linguistics, sociolinguistics, semantics/pragmatics, languages in contact, creole languages; Africa and Caribbean, South Asia (ebendix@gc.cuny.edu )

Warren DeBoer (PhD Berkeley 1972; Prof Emeritus) Ethnoarchaeology; South America(warren.deboer@qc.cuny.edu)

Edgar Gregersen (PhD Yale 1962; Prof Emeritus) Linguistics, cultural anthropology, sexology; Africa (egregrsn@aol.com )

Edward Hansen (PhD Michigan 1969; Prof Emeritus) Ethnology, anth of business, social stratification; Eur, Lat Amer, US (edwardchansen@aol.com)

Maria Lagos (PhD Columbia 1988; Prof Emerita) Cultural anthropology, political economy, gender and ethnic relations; Latin America Andean region (maria.lagos@lehman.cuny.edu)

Susan H Lees (PhD U Michigan 1970; Prof Emerita) Cultural anthropology, human ecology, economic anthropology,religion; Mesoamerica, North America, Middle East (slees@hunter.cuny.edu)

Shirley Lindenbaum (MA U Sydney 1970; Prof Emerita) Ethnology, medical anthropology, symbolism; Oceania, Bangladesh (shirleylindenbaum@gmail.com)

Sally McLendon (PhD UC Berkeley 1966; Prof Emerita) Linguistics, narrative analysis, ethnohistory; material culture, redocumenting museum collections, exhibits; North American Indian peoples (smclendo@hunter.cuny.edu)

Joan Mencher (PhD Columbia 1958; Prof Emerita) Cultural anthropology, environment and sustainable agriculture, gender, development, socio-economic development; South Asia (joan.mencher@gmail.com)

June Nash (PhD Chicago 1960; Dist Prof Emerita) Social anthropology, modernization, anthropology of work; Bolivia, Mexico (junenash27@gmail.com)

John Oates (PhD U London 1974; Prof) Primate ecology and social organization, tropical forest ecology; West Africa, India (On leave Fall 2004 and Spring 2005) (joates@hunter.cuny.edu)

Burton Pasternak (PhD Columbia 1967; Prof Emeritus) Social organization, ecology; China

Jane Schneider (PhD U Michigan 1965; Prof Emerita) Political economy, material culture, social movements; Mediterranean, Europe (jschneider@gc.cuny.edu)

Gerald Sider (PhD New Sch for Social Res 1971; Prof Emeritus) Historical anthropology of capital/class/culture in North Atlantic, production of race/state; North America (gsider2@gmail.com)

Sydel Silverman (PhD Columbia 1963; Prof Emerita) Complex societies, history of anthropology; Europe (ssilvwolf@aol.com)

Sara Stinson (PhD Michigan 1978; Prof Emerita) Human growth/development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology; South America (sara.stinson@qc.cuny.edu)

Frederick Szalay (PhD Columbia 1967; Prof Emeritus) Evolutionary theory, evolutionary history and morphology of fossil and living primates, mammalian systematics