Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 

Spring 2007 Colloquia

Spring 2007 Colloquia Series
and Special Events
PhD Program in Anthropology, CUNY Graduate Center

365 5th Avenue at 34th Street
New York, NY 10016

All colloquia take place on Fridays, 4:15-6:15 in Room C415A (concourse level) unless otherwise noted. Following the colloquia, light refreshments are served in the Brockway Room, Rm. 6402 in the Anthropology Department. Note days and times of other special events.


Friday, February 16
"How to Do Engaged Anthropology"

Roger Lancaster, Department of Anthropology and Director of the Cultural Studies Program,
George Mason University

Friday, February 23
"Global Christianity"

Webb Keane, Department of Anthropology and Center for Southeast Asian Studies,
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Friday, March 2
"South Arabia to Singapore: Asian Finance, Arab Roadbuilding, English Empire"

Engseng Ho, Department of Anthropology and Social Sciences, Harvard University

Friday, March 9
" 'Right There With You': Coca-Cola and Political Violence in Colombia"

Lesley Gill, Department of Anthropology, American University

Friday, March 23
"Crude Matters"

Fernando Coronil, Department of Anthropology and Department of History,
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Friday, March 30
"Can there be a Subaltern Middle Class? Explorations in the History of the Dalits (ex-Untouchables) of India"

Gyan Pandey, Department of History, Emory University

Friday, April 6
Spring Break – No Colloquium


Friday, April 13
Title TBA

Andrew Lakoff, Department of Sociology, University of California-San Diego

Friday, April 20
No colloquium - SANA meetings


Friday, April 27
"The Behavior of Early Bipeds: Clues from the Skeleton."

Elizabeth Harmon, Department of Anthropology, Hunter College