Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 

Current Students

Fredesvinda Bonotan Dura (Environmental and Geological Sciences)Research Interests: bioenvironmental chemistry, coasts and estuaries, water quality management
Advisor: Dr. Brett Branco
Campus Affiliation: Brooklyn College
fbdura@yahoo.com and fdura@gc.cuny.edu

Brian A Brigham (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Nutrient Cycling, greenhouse gas production, and microbial composition in wetland systems.
Advisor: Gregory O'Mullan and Jeffrey Bird
Campus Affiliation: Instructor at Queens College 
bbrigham@gc.cuny.edubabrigham@gmail.com 


Elizabeth Chesebrough (Environmental & Geological Science; Lehman College) 
Research Interests: Watershed management, system dynamics, mountain glaciers, climate change, developing nations.
Advisor: Yuri Gorokhovich
echesebrough@gc.cuny.edu 


Richard Cohen (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Climate, Energy Use, Modelling 
rcohen57@optonline.net 


Elisabeth E.M. Contreras (Environmental & Geological Science; John Jay College) 
Research Interests: Environmental Toxicology, specifically mercury in the environment 
elisabeth.contreras@gmail.com 


Rui Ding (Environmental & Geological Science; City College) 
Research Interests: Organic pollutants in the environment 
dingrui0332@hotmail.com 


Fredesvinda Bonotan Dura (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College, NYC College of Technology) 
Research Interests: Water Pollution and its Control, Eutrophication, Sustainability Assessment
Advisor: Brett Branco
fdura@gc.cuny.edu 


Heather Glickman (Environmental & Geological Science; Hunter College) 
Research Interests: Aerosols and Climate 
Hglickman@gc.cuny.edu 


Paula Gural (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: River and Estuary Ecology am currently working on a carbonate outcrop in Dutchess Co. NY. It formed ~ 500 My ago in shallow marine environment when the North American continent was located ~ 30o south of the equator. I am focusing my study on the environments of deposition, later structural deformation, U-PB in carbonates to date defomational events,provenance as determined by zircons, and biogenic components.
Advisor: Hannes Brueckner
paulagural@aol.com 


Damayanti Gurung (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: River and Estuary Ecology 
Advisor: Cecilia McHugh
Campus Affiliation: Instructor at Queens College
saligramdi@yahoo.com 

Kimberly C. Handle 
Research Interests: Paleoecology and paleodiversity of late Cretaceous, Methane, Cold seeps of the Western Interior Basin, South Dakota
Advisor: Neil H. Landman, AMNH 
Campus affiliation(s): American Museum of Natural History, Instructor at Brooklyn College and at Hunter College

Dustin Herlich (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Nutrient Cycling, Bioacumulation and Remediation 
dherlich@gc.cuny.edu 


Charuta Kulkarni (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Quaternary Geology, Geoarchaeology, Climate Change. 
Advisor: Arthur Bankoff 
ckulkarni@gc.cuny.edu 


Jihyun Kyung (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Climate Change, Carbon and Nutrient Cycling of Soil and Vegetation 
jkyung@gc.cuny.edukjihyun987@naver.com 


Annesia Lamb (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Analyzing nutrients and dynamics of freshwater and marine systems. 
Advisor: Brett Branco 
annesialamb@gmail.com 


Angelo Lampousis (Environmental & Geological Science; City College) 
Research Interests: Hydrogeophysics, agriculture 
ALampousis@gc.cuny.edu 


Ying Liu (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry, Environmental Analysis 
liuliulibra@hotmail.com 


Jacob Louis Mey (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College and Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University) 
Research Interests: Paleo climate and sea level, quality of climate proxy data used in paleoclimate reconstructions, uranium series disequilibrium, bathymetry and geospatial analysis of paleo reef morphology 
Website
mey@ldeo.columbia.edu 


Bolortsetseg Minjin (Environmental & Geological Science; American Museum of Natural History) 
Research Interests: Vertebrate Paleontology 
bolormin@amnh.org 


Katie Ryan-Mishkin (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Geochemistry, sedimentology, environmental geology with
special interests in paleoclimate, paleoseismicity, and estuarine dynamics 
Advisor: Cecilia McHugh
Campus Affiliation: Instructor at Queens College 
kmishkin 'at' gc 'dot' cuny 'dot' edu 

Dhiman R. Mondal
Research Interests: Coast, estuary and delta
Advisor: Dr. Cecilia McHugh
Campus Affiliation: Queens College
dmondal@gc.cuny.edu, dhimandu@gmail.com

Lilja Nielsen (Environmental & Geological Science; Graduate Center) 
Research Interests: Environmental Toxicology with special interest in endocrine disrupting compounds. Current research investigating the toxicological effects of mercury. 
LNielsen@gc.cuny.edu 


Diomaris Padilla (Environmental & Geological Science; City College) 
Research Interests: Atmospheric and Hydrologic Sciences 
diomarisp@hotmail.com 


Lesley Patrick (Environmental & Geological Science; Hunter College) 
Research Interests: Urban Sustainability, Climate Change, GIS 
lpatrick@hunter.cuny.edu 


Edward J. Rice (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Ecology, Long Island Sound, Climate Change
Advisor: Gillian Stewart
Website
erice@gc.cuny.eduricedward@gmail.com 


Maddalena Romano (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Paleoclimatology/Paleooceanography, Global Climate Change, Geology, GIS 
mromano1@gc.cuny.edu 


Rahul Sahajpal (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Sediment and Aqueous Geochemistry
Advisor: N.G. Hemming
rsahajpal 'at' qc 'dot' cuny 'dot' edu 
 




Fernanda Santos (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Black carbon degradation and atmospheric deposition in soils; Roots degradation; belowground carbon cycling; soil ecology; Stable isotopes tracer techniques; molecular markers, GIS application.
Advisor: Jeffrey Bird
fsantos100 'at' qc 'dot' cuny 'dot' edu 


Joseph D. Sapienza (Environmental & Geological Science; Graduate Center) 
Research Interests: Hydrology and Geology 
jossums@optonline.net 


Nicholas Steiner (Environmental & Geological Science; City College) 
Research Interests: Urban Aerosols, Remote Sensing, Ocean Color 
NSteiner@gc.cuny.edu 


Suzie Stempel (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Gowanus Canal, Environmental Geochemistry, Environmental Policy, Environmental Sociology, Environmental Justice, Public Science. 
Advisor: Dr. Cheng; Dr. Gould
SStempel@gc.cuny.edu 


David Stolarz (Environmental & Geological Science; Hunter College) 
Research Interests: GIS, Remote Sensing, Economics, Human Geography, Coastal Processes, Political Science 
Website
dstolarz@geo.hunter.cuny.edu 


Hanii Takahashi (Environmental & Geological Science; City College) 
Research Interests: Tropical Overshooting Convection, Satellite Remote sensing of Clouds
Advisor: Johnny Luo
htakahashi@gc.cuny.eduhanii.takahashi@gmail.com 


Angelika Winner (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: Aqueous environmental geo-biochemistry, Influence of microorganisms on water chemistry/quality, Water quality and climate change, Water quality and water privatization 
Advisor: Jeffrey Bird
htakahashi@gc.cuny.edu 


Kamila Wisniewska (Environmental & Geological Science; Hunter College) 
Research Interests: Climate Change, Ocean/Atmosphere Interactions, Ocean Models. 
Advisor: Haydee Salmun
kamila827@yahoo.com

 
Xiyan Xu (Environmental & Geological Science; Queens College) 
Research Interests: vegetation-atmosphere interaction in the atmospheric boundary layer and seeking numerical solutions to the scalar transfer over forested hills.
Advisor: Chuixiang Yi 
Website
xxu1@gc.cuny.edu 

Natalia Zakharova (Environmental & Geological Science; Brooklyn College) 
Research Interests: Applied Geophysics, Petrophysics 
nzakharova@gc.cuny.edu