Show The Graduate Center Menu



Richard G. Schwartz Selected to Receive Honors of ASHA
 



Douglas H. Whalen awarded NIDCD Research Grant



Annual Alumni Event
Friday, October 24, 2014


Colloquium Schedule

10/15/14, Wednesday 2:45pm
Dr. Eva Fernandez, Queens College and GSUC
Dr. Ricardo de Souza, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil
"Biligualism and Language Change: Do Momentery Linguistic Innovations Lead to Long-term Shifts in Grammatical Representations?"

10/29/14, Wednesday 2:45pm
Dr. Beatiz Lado, Lehman College
"Level of Bilingualism and Aptitude in L3 Acquistion"


Dissertation Defenses

Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Ms Naomi Eichorn

Monday, March 10, 2014
Ms. Diana Almodovar

Monday, January 13, 2014
Mr. Simon Henin

Friday, November 8, 2013
Ms. Christine Rota-Donahue

Wednesday, September 11, 2013
Ms. Peggy Conner

Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Ms. Yan Yu

Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Mr. Shukrallah Abdelrazeq

Friday, May 24, 2013
Ms. Carol Tessel

Friday, April 19, 2013
Ms. Rebekah Buccheri

Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Ms. Nicole Sislian

Wednesday, January 23, 2013
Ms. Anthea Vivona

Friday, January 18, 2013
Ms. Suzanne Thompson


Program Newsletter, Spring 2014


Floor Map

 
 

Welcome to the Ph.D. Program in Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences!
The doctoral program is designed to prepare scholars and researchers with a capacity to develop broad theoretical and conceptual frameworks to strengthen their understanding of the major issues of human communication and its disorders. We offer our students a strong and multifaceted research-based doctoral education. Both our faculty and students come from various disciplines, with backgrounds in both the sciences and social sciences. Our faculty members conduct research on varied aspects of speech, language, and hearing processes and disorders, using methods and theoretical frameworks of cognitive neuroscience. One common theme across projects and laboratories is bilingualism and cross-linguistic studies across the lifespan in typical and clinical populations. Our overall goal is to provide our students with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to continue learning and growing throughout their professional lives.  

Klara Marton

Executive Officer/Professor
Graduate Center
Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309


Phone: (212) 817-8802

Mira Goral

Deputy Executive Officer, Professor
Graduate Center
Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309


Phone: (212) 817-8846

Patricia Goodson

Assistant Program Officer
Graduate Center
Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309


Phone: (212) 817-8800

Gary Chant

Senior College Lab Technician
Graduate Center
Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309


Phone: (212) 817-8854