Alphabetical Listing by Name

Aciman, André


Distinguished Professor, Comparative Literature, French
aaciman@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: French Literature | Memoir
SPECIALIZATIONS: Marcel Proust, The Literature of Seventeenth Century France, Madame de LaFayette, The Psychological Novel and the roman d'analyse, Memoirs and Memory in the Twentieth Century


Alba, Richard


Distinguished Professor, Sociology
ralba@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Immigration | Quantitative Methods | Racial Justice
SPECIALIZATIONS: Race, urban sociology, immigrant assimilation & ethno-racially diverse workforces
LANGUAGES: German (fluent), French (moderate)


Alter, Elizabeth


Professor, Biology
ealter@york.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Biology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, and Behavior


Bergad, Laird


Professor, History
Director, Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies

lbergad@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Demographic Research | Immigration | Latin American History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Latin America and Caribbean history, demography, Latino data project, Latino immigration and culture in the U.S.
LANGUAGES: Spanish (fluent), Portuguese (fluent)


Bhagavan, Manu


Professor, History
manu.bhagavan@hunter.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: History | Human Rights
SPECIALIZATIONS: 20th Century India, Intellectual History, Constitutional History, Post Colonial Studies


Blevins, Juliette


Director, Endangered Language Initiative, Professor
JBlevins@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Linguistics
SPECIALIZATIONS: Linguistics; Language documentation; Language description; Historical Linguistics; Language Change, Endangered Languages; Historical linguistics; Language Change; Language extinction; Native American Languages; Austronesian (Pacific) Languages: Basque Language; Language Universals; Linguistic Typology; Sound patterns/Phonology; Sound Change.


Bloomfield, David


Professor, Urban Education
davidb@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Urban Education
SPECIALIZATIONS: Politics, K-12, Common Core, Law and Schools, NYC schools, Renewals Schools


Brier, Stephen


Professor, Urban Education
Program Coordinator, Interactive Technology and Pedagogy

sbrier@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy | U.S. Social History
SPECIALIZATIONS: New media technology


Brown, Heath


Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
hbrown@jjay.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: American Presidency | Electoral Politics | Immigration
SPECIALIZATIONS: Immigrants in electoral politics, the role of immigrant-serving nonprofits, interest groups and advocacy, presidential transition politics, Republican Party and the Tea Party


Brumbaugh, Claudia


Assistant Professor, Psychology
claudia.brumbaugh@qc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Romantic Relationships


Brumberg, Joshua


Dean for the Sciences
Professor, Biology, Psychology

joshua.brumberg@qc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Cortical circuits, infuence of sensory experience


Buck-Morss, Susan


Distinguished Professor, Political Science
sbuck-morss@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Islam
SPECIALIZATIONS: Muslim Brotherhood, Sharia law as they affect the Public Sphere in the U.S. and why they are part of the heritage of Judaism, Christianity, and Western philosophy – and the tradition of critical reason today


Carmichael, Cheryl


Assistant Professor, Psychology
ccarmichael@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Close relationships


Cherry, Robert


Professor, Economics
robertc@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Economics | Education | Race & Identity
SPECIALIZATIONS: Labor Economics, Race, Diversity, Education


Chin, Margaret


Associate Professor, Sociology
mmchin@hunter.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Immigration
SPECIALIZATIONS: Immigrant families and work, Asian immigrants, Chinese life, Asian American life, especially children and young adults of immigrant parents
LANGUAGES: Cantonese (fluent), Madarin (moderate)


Cole, Alyson


Executive Officer, Political Science
acole@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Feminist theory, women in politics, domestic labor policies, reproductive rights challenges, women and the law


Cook, Blanche Wiesen


Distinguished Professor, History, M.A. in Liberal Studies, Women's and Gender Studies Certificate Program
blanchewcook@gmail.com

SUBJECTS: Biography | U.S. Cultural History | Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Biographer of Eleanor Roosevelt, Dwight Eisenhower


Daiute, Colette


Professor, Educational Psychology, Pscyhology, Urban Education
cdaiute@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Child/youth development in conflict, migration, poverty


Davidson, Cathy


Distinguished Professor, English
Founding Director, The Futures Initiative

cdavidson@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Education | Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy | U.S. Cultural History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Technology, Data, Higher Education, reform of Higher Education, K-12 Education, new collaborative Methods of living and learning


Drake, Jennifer


Assistant Professor, Psychology
jdrake@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Psychology of the arts, giftedness, drawing prodigies


Eatough, Erin


Assistant Professor, Psychology
erin.eatough@baruch.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Work stress, illegitimate tasks at work, employee health and well-being, interpersonal relationships at work, breadwinning women, pressure to tolerate


Fine, Michelle


Distinguished Professor, Psychology, Urban Education
Founder, Public Science Project

mfine@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Education | Linguistics | New York City | Quantitative Methods | U.S. Social History | United Nations
SPECIALIZATIONS: Critical Social/Personality Psychology Participatory Action Research, Studies of Social Injustice and Resistance, Urban Education, Women: Gender Inequality and History


Foner, Nancy


Distinguished Professor, Sociology
nfoner@hunter.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Immigration
SPECIALIZATIONS: Immigrants in the U.S. and Western Europe, Islam as a barrier to immigration, immigration to NYC, the way immigration has changed perceptions of race and ethnicity in the U.S., including the meaning of whiteness


Freeman, Joshua


Distinguished Professor, History
jfreeman@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: History | New York City
SPECIALIZATIONS: NYC history, 20th Century US History


Galietta, Michele


Associate Professor, Psychology
mgalietta@jjay.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Psychotherapy, Mindfulness, Violence, Domestic VIolence, Stalking, forensic


Ghirlanda, Stefano


Professor, Biology, Psychology
sghirlanda@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Cultural trends, cultural dynamics


Gilmore, Ruth Wilson


Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Associate Director, Center for Place, Culture and Politics

rgilmore@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: African Diaspora | Mass Incarceration | Race & Identity | Racial Justice
SPECIALIZATIONS: Structural Adjustment and new alignments, Revolution and reform: Race, Space and Place Environments and Movements; Prison, Urban Rural Continuities


Gold, Matthew


Executive Officer, M.A. Program in Liberal Studies
Associate Professor of English & Digital Humanities
Advisor to the Provost for Digital Initiatives

mgold@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Digital Humanities | English | Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy
SPECIALIZATIONS: American Studies, Interactive Technology, Pedagogy


Gornick, Janet


Professor, Sociology, Political Science
Director, Stone Center for Socio-Economic Inequality

jgornick@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Income Inequality | Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Women’s Pay Inequality, Household Wealth Income Distribution


Grasso, Frank


Associate Professor, Biology, Psychology
fgrasso@brooklyn.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: BioMimetic Robotics, Neuroethology


Hart, Roger


Professor, Psychology, Earth and Environmental Sciences
rhart@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Children | Communities
SPECIALIZATIONS: Children’s Development, Quality of Physical Environment, Participatory Development of Communities


Hartwig, Maria


Associate Professor, Psychology
mhartwig@jjay.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Deception, interrogation


Jacobson, Michael


Professor, Sociology
Director of the CUNY Institute for State and Local Governance

Michael.Jacobson@islg.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Mass Incarceration


Jaeger, David


Professor, Economics
djaeger@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Economics | Education | Immigration | Quantitative Methods
SPECIALIZATIONS: Labor Economics, Econometrics, Labor market, Impact of immigration


Kasinitz, Philip


Presidential Professor, Sociology
pkasinitz@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Global Cities | Immigration | New York City
SPECIALIZATIONS: Immigration and citizenship in North America, assimilation and experiences of first-generation Americans and Caribbean immigrants, the role of immigration in creating global cities


Katz, Cindi


Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Psychology, MA Women's and Gender Studies
ckatz@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Children | Ethnography | Public Space
SPECIALIZATIONS: Family, security


Krugman, Paul


Distinguished Professor, Economics
Distinguished Scholar, Stone Center for Socio-Economic Inequality

pkrugman@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Economics | Income Inequality
SPECIALIZATIONS: Micro, Macro Economics


Lazreg, Marnia


Professor, Sociology
mlazreg@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Middle East
SPECIALIZATIONS: North Africa, Algeria, and the role/status of women throughout


Logue, Alexandra


Research Professor, Psychology
alexandra.logue@cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Psychology of eating and drinking; higher education student success policy


Lott, Eric


Professor, English
elott@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: American Literature | Film | Race & Identity
SPECIALIZATIONS: U.S. Literature, Music, Performance History of “Black Face” in Film and on Broadway, Intellectual Life


Low, Setha


Professor, Anthropology, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Psychology
slow@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Ethnography | Global Cities | Public Space
SPECIALIZATIONS: Ethnography and Qualitative Methodology, Use of Public Space, Securitization of public space


Luttrell, Wendy


EO of Urban Education, Professor
Psychology, Sociology, Urban Education

wluttrell@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Race & Identity | Urban Education
SPECIALIZATIONS: Urban American education and how it shapes and reinforces beliefs about race, identity, knowledge and power; Visual methodology, “collaborative seeing” in longitudinal studies


Mandiberg, Michael


Associate Professor, Interactive Technology and Pedagogy Certificate Program
michael@mandiberg.com

SUBJECT: Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy
SPECIALIZATIONS: Wikipedia scholar and artist, programmer, designer


Manovich, Lev


Professor, Computer Science
lmanovich@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Data Visualization


Martín Alcoff, Linda


Professor, Philosophy
lmartina@hunter.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Philosophy | Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Foucault, Epistemology, Feminist Epistemology, Feminist Theory


McCall, Leslie


Associate Director, Stone Center on Socio-Economic Inequality Presidential Professor of Sociology and Political Science
lmccall@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Electoral Politics | Income Inequality | Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Public opinion regarding economic and social (e.g. education) policies; economic opportunity and labor market inequality; American cultural norms (e.g. the American dream); intersections of gender, racial, economic inequality.


Mennin, Douglas


Professor, Psychology
dmennin@hunter.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Anxiety disorders, emotion regulation, depression, mindfulness, stress


Milanovic, Branko


Visiting Presidential Professor
Senior Fellow, Stone Center for Socio-Economic Inequality

bmilanovic@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Economics | Income Inequality


Milkman, Ruth


Distinguished Professor, Sociology
rmilkman@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Labor Movement | Women: Gender Equality and History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Minimum Wage, Women’s Pay, job segregation by gender, Paid Family Leave


Mollenkopf, John


Distinguished Professor, Political Science, Sociology
jmollenkopf@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Affordable Housing | Demographic Research | Electoral Politics | Global Cities | Immigration | New York City | Public Policy
SPECIALIZATIONS: Urban politics; comparative urbanism; NYC politics, economic, social and political contribution of immigrant communities; what policies most affect immigrant communities; and citizenship naturalization policies


Nadal, Kevin


Associate Professor, Psychology
Executive Director of CLAGS: The Center for LGBTQ Studies

knadal@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: LGBT History and Research | Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Counseling, Multicultural issues, LGBT, microaggression on mental health of people of color


Nasaw, David


Distinguished Professor, History
dnasaw@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Biography | U.S. Cultural History
SPECIALIZATIONS: Biographer of William Randolph Hearst, Andrew Carnegie and Joseph P. Kennedy


Piven, Frances Fox


Distinguished Professor, Political Science
fpiven@hotmail.com

SUBJECTS: Electoral Politics | Social & Political Movements
SPECIALIZATIONS: Welfare state, urban politics, voting


Reynolds, David


Distinguished Professor, English
dreynolds@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: American Literature
SPECIALIZATIONS: American literature before 1900, Abraham Lincoln, Walt Whitman


Ro, Tony


Presidential Professor, Biology, Psychology
tro@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Cognitive Neuroscience
SPECIALIZATIONS: Cognitive and neural mechanisms underlying attention, perception and action; Uses transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and MRI and fMRI; Studies patients with neurological deficits after focal brain damage.


Robinson, Chase


President, The Graduate Center
Distinguished Professor, History

SUBJECT: Islam
SPECIALIZATIONS: Pre-Modern Islam and Trump Executive Order on Muslim Ban


Romalewski, Steve


Director, CUNY Mapping Service
sromalewski@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Demographic Research | New York City
SPECIALIZATIONS: NYC politics, demography of NYC/NYS electoral maps, political mapping of New York State


Romaniuk, Peter


Associate Professor, Political Science
Assistant Director of the Ralph Bunche Institute for International Studies

promaniuk@jjay.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Immigration
SPECIALIZATIONS: Terrorism, counter-terrorism, terrorist financing and multilateral sanctions


Saegert, Susan


Professor, Psychology
ssaegert@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Affordable Housing | Communities | Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Stress and inner city families, community development neighborhoods and communities, home ownership relating to social capital and neighborhood quality and affordable housing


Sanford, Victoria


Professor, Anthropology
victoria.sanford@lehman.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Human Rights | Immigration | Latin American History | Social & Political Movements


Scherbaum, Charles


Associate Professor, Psychology
Charles.Scherbaum@baruch.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Employee hiring, analytics, performance management


Shedd, Carla


Associate Professor, Urban Education
cshedd@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Education | Mass Incarceration | Public Policy | Race & Identity | Racial Justice | Urban Education


Smith, Robert


Professor, Sociology
robert.smith@baruch.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Immigration
SPECIALIZATIONS: Mexican immigrants in NYC, DACA, and undocument immigrants
LANGUAGES: Spanish (fluent)


Su, Celina


Associate Professor, Psychology
celinasu@gmail.com

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Social and political participation, civic engagement, community development, youth, participatory budgeting, deliberative democracy, social movements


Thistlethwaite, Polly


Professor, Library
Chief Librarian, Graduate Center CUNY

PThistlethwaite@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECTS: Librarianship | Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy
SPECIALIZATIONS: Inter-library resource sharing, open access publishing, AIDS activism and related archiving projects, patron privacy in library records, contemporary digital scholarly practice


Tolman, Deborah


Professor, Psychology, Social Welfare, MA Women's and Gender Studies
deborah.tolman@gmail.com

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Gender/sexuality


Torre, Maria


Research Scientist, Psychology
Director, Public Science Project

mtorre@publicscienceproject.org

SUBJECTS: Children | LGBT History and Research | Mass Incarceration | Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Studies in social justice, critical participatory action research projects, participatory contact zones, radical inclusion


Waltzer, Luke


Founding Director, Teaching and Learning Center
Instructor, Interactive Technology and Pedagogy Certificate Program

lwaltzer@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Teaching, Technology & Pedagogy
SPECIALIZATIONS: Educational technology, faculty development, curriculum development, critical university studies


Weiss, Thomas


Presidential Professor, Political Science
tweiss@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: United Nations
SPECIALIZATIONS: International organizations and global governance, humanitarian intervention, responsibility to protect doctrine, U.S. foreign policy


Wissinger, Elizabeth


Associate Professor, M.A. in Liberal Studies
ewissinger@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Fashion
SPECIALIZATIONS: Sociology, technology, embodiment


Wolin, Richard


Distinguished Professor, Comparative Literature, History, Political Science
rwolin@gc.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Modern European Intellectual History
SPECIALIZATIONS: French and German political thought


Wupperman, Peggilee


Associate Professor, Psychology
pwupperman@jjay.cuny.edu

SUBJECT: Psychology
SPECIALIZATIONS: Mindfulness, impulsive and addictive (self-destrutive) behaviors