Support the GC


GC Alumni Awards


We recognize the tremendous talents of our scholarly community with the prestigious Graduate Center Alumni Awards which will be held next on Wednesday, April 3, 2019. Please participate by nominating exceptional GC alumni for 2020

2017 Alumni Achievement Award recipients:

  • Perry N. Halkitis (Ph.D. ’95, Educational Psychology), Dean and Professor, Biostatistics & Social and Behavioral Health Sciences, Medicine, Applied Psychology, and Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers School of Public Health | For his academic leadership and important contributions to our understanding of HIV/AIDS, drug abuse, and mental health disease
  • Michael P. Jacobson (Ph.D. ’86, Sociology), Founder and Executive Director, CUNY Institute for State & Local Governance | For his outstanding contributions to promoting good and just governments

2017 Graduate of the Decade (GOLD) Award recipient:

  • Maya Hess (Ph.D. ’14, Criminal Justice), Founder and CEO of Red T, a non-profit organization dedicated to the protection of translators and interpreters in conflict zones and other high-risk settings | For her outstanding humanitarian and educational work

2017 City University of New York (CUNY) Award recipients:

  • William Seraile (Ph.D. ’77, History), Professor Emeritus of African American History, Lehman College | For his outstanding scholarly contributions and dedication to CUNY
  • Edward Smaldone (Ph.D. ’86, Music Composition), Professor of Music Theory and Composition. Past Director, Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College | For his outstanding scholarly and administrative contributions and dedication to CUNY

2017 GC Alumni Award Committee Members

  • Bruce Altschuler (Ph.D. 1981, Political Science)
  • Herman Berliner (Ph.D. 1970, Economics)
  • Peter V. Cobb (Ph. D. 1972, Mathematics)
  • Margaret Connors McQuade (Ph.D. 2005, Art History)
  • Christopher Emdin (Ph.D. 2007, Urban Education; 2016 Alumni Award Winner)
  • David Olan (Associate Provost and Dean for Academic Affairs, The Graduate Center)
  • Chirag Raval (Ph.D. 2012, Biomedical Engineering)
  • Caroline Urvater (Ph.D. 2016, Comparative Literature; M.A. 1990, Comparative Literature)


Past Awards