Faculty Book: Allan Atlas

Allan W. Atlas

Victorian Music for the English Concertina: Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries, Vol. 52
(A-R Editions, 2009)

Developed by the physicist Charles Wheatstone around 1830, the English concertina was extremely popular in art and music circles of Victorian England until late in the nineteenth century. This edition includes fifteen works that present a cross section of the instrument’s concert and salon repertories, and includes music by the “mainstream” composers Macfarren, Benedict, and Molique, as well as original compositions by such concertina virtuosos as Giulio Regondi and Richard Blagrove. Also included are pieces by two little-known female composers/arrangers, Hannah Rampton Binfield and Rosina King; an arrangement by George Case, demonstrating how the baritone concertina was used in small parish churches; two works for concertina ensembles; a duo for treble; a baritone concertina by Blagrove; and a transcription by Regondi of the final movement of Mozart’s Prague symphony for concertina quartet. Allan Atlas is a distinguished professor of music at the Graduate Center.

Purchase this book

Submitted on: JAN 1, 2009

Category: Faculty Books | Music Ph.D. - D.M.A