Show The Graduate Center Menu

2021 DTSA Booth Award Honoring Diana Taylor

MAY 14, 2021 | 12:00 PM TO 2:00 PM



The Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue


May 14, 2021: 12:00 PM-2:00 PM




The Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association in collaboration with The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center present:

The 2021 Edwin Booth Award
Diana Taylor
Celebrating a Lifetime of Activism within Academia
May 14, 2021

Black and White Animation of a face. White text that reads Is Diana Taylor an Academic Activist?

Since she co-founded the Institute for Women and Social Change (1993), to the Institute for Performance and Politics (1995), to the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics (1998), Diana Taylor has dedicated her career to bringing artists, activists, scholars, and students together to discuss and act on the urgent social issues of our time. Scholarship, she argues in her books, is also a form of activism, an intervention that can channel the expertise and resources of universities to engage other communities of practice. What can we do, she asks, when apparently nothing can be done, and doing nothing is not an option? A lot. 

Diana Taylor is University Professor and Professor of Performance Studies and Spanish at New York University. She is the award-winning author of multiple books, among them: Theatre of Crisis (1991), Disappearing Acts (1997), The Archive and the Repertoire (2003), Performance (2016), and ¡Presente! The Politics of Presence (2020). These last three books were written or translated into Spanish as well as other languages. ¡Presente! will come out early next year with Ediciones Universidad Alberto Hurtado later this year. Taylor was the Founding Director of the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics from 1998 to 2000. She is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and several other major awards. In 2017, Taylor was President of the Modern Language Association. In 2018 she was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Science.

The 2021 Booth Award is made possible by gracious support from: CUNY Doctoral Students’ Council Prof. Marvin Carlson, the Sidney E. Cohn Chair in Theatre Prof. Jean Graham-Jones, the Lucille Lortel Chair in Theatre Prof. David Savran, the Vera Mowry Roberts Chair in Theatre

The Edwin Booth Award was established in 1983 by the Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association (DTSA) to honor a person, organization, or company for their outstanding contribution to the New York City/American Theatre and Performance Community. Recipients of the annual Booth Award are nominated and elected exclusively by students in the program. Named after the nineteenth-century tragedian Edwin Booth, renowned for his intellectual curiosity, the award promotes integration of the professional and academic theatre communities. The 2019 Booth Award was given to Ishmael Houston-Jones. Past honorees include: Ellen Stewart (’84), Joseph Papp (’89), Dixon Place (’99), HERE Arts Center (’06), Mabou Mines (’07), Reverend Billy and the Stop Shopping Choir (’16), Taylor Mac (’17), Young Jean Lee (’18) and others.

Follow Ph.D. Program in Theatre and Performance and the Graduate Center, CUNY on Instagram @phdtheatregradcentercuny, or click here for Facebook.

Follow Segal Center on Instagram @segalcenter, or click here for Facebook.

The Ph.D. Program in Theatre and Performance is one of the leading doctoral theatre programs in the United States, offering students a rigorous grounding in the theory, history, and criticism of theatre studies, while encouraging interdisciplinary thinking. The program embraces the rich cultural resources of New York City, with its professional theatre specialists, institutions, and myriad productions, as well as its library and museum facilities and its archives and private collections. Although the program emphasizes academic studies, attempts are made to form alliances of understanding between scholars and practitioners whenever possible.