Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 

Affiliated Faculty

Adjunct Faculty and Anthropologists in other CUNY Doctoral Programs


Leslie C Aiello (PhD University of London 1982; President Emerita, Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research; Professor Emerita, University College London) human evolution, adaptation and life history; energetics; evolution of the brain, diet, language, cognition, locomotion, and thermoregulation (lesliecaiello@gmail.com).

Sergio Almécija (PhD Institut Català de Paleontologia Miquel Crusafont at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and Universitat de Barcelona 2009; Senior Research Scientist, Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History) Ape evolution, human evolution, morphometrics, evolutionary biology (salmecija@amnh.org)

Colleen E Batey (PhD Durham 1982; Lecturer, Archeology, U Glasgow; Finds Research Manager, Arch Inst Iceland) Viking Age, Late Norse Scotland, material culture, environmental arch; North Atlantic (c.batey@archaeology.gla.ac.uk)

Timothy G Bromage (PhD Toronto 1986; Professor, Biomaterials & Biomimetics, NYU Coll of Dentistry) Hominid origins, biological anthropology, mineralized tissue bio; Africa (tim.bromage@nyu.edu)

Roberto Delgado (PhD Duke 2003; Asstistant Professor, Anthropology Department, USC) Comparative behavioral ecology, sexual selection, reproductive strategies and primate vocal communication; SE Asia, C Amer (radelgad@usc.edu)

Andrew J. Dugmore (PhD U of Aberdeen, Scotland 1985; Sr. Lecturer, Geography, U of Edinburgh) Tephrochronology; geomorphology, climate, environment; North Atlantic (ajd@geo.ed.ac.uk)

Kevin J. Edwards (PhD U Aberdeen 1978; Professor, Dept of Geography and Environment and Northern Studies Center, U Aberdeen, Scotland) Environmental archaeology, palynology, hunter-gatherers and agricultural transition in Scotland; North Atlantic (kevin.edwards@abdn.ac.uk)

Ashley S. Hammond (PhD University of Missouri 2013; Assistant Curator of Biological Anthropology, Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History) Paleoanthropology, Human Evolution, Functional Morphology, East Africa, primate locomotion (ahammond@amnh.org)

Katerina Harvati (PhD CUNY 2001; Professor and Head of Paleoanthropology, University of Tuebingen) Paleoanthropology, evolutionary primatology, Neanderthals, modern human origins, paleolithic arch; Europe (katerina.harvati@ifu.uni-tuebingen.de)

Jon H Ingimundarson (PhD Arizona 1995; Sr. Scientist, Stefansson Arctic Institute, Icleand) Cultural / historical anthropology; North Atlantic (jhi@svs.is)

Christian Keller (PhD Oslo 1990; Professor, Medieval Arch, IKOS, U Oslo) Nordic Archaeology, Viking & Middle Ages; North Atlantic (christian.keller@ikos.uio.no, ckeller@online.no)

Laurel Kendall (PhD Columbia 1979; Curator, Dept of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History) Cultural Anthropology, religion & ritual, gender, museum anthropology, material culture, magic; East Asia (lkendall@amnh.org)

Jeffrey Laitman (PhD Yale 1977; Professor, Cell Bio/Anatomy, Mt Sinai School of Medicine) Paleoanthropology, human anatomy and development, evolution of speech and language; Old World (jeffrey.laitman@mssm.edu)

Louise A. Lamphere (PhD Harvard 1968; Distinguished Professor Emerita, Anthropology, University of New Mexico) Social Organization, kinship, urban families, political anthropology gender; Native North America, United States (lamphere@unm.edu).

Ross MacPhee (PhD Alberta 1977; Curator, Dept of Mammalogy, American Museum of Natural History) Evolutionary primatology, comparative morphology, paleontology; Africa, Asia, Caribbean (macphee@amnh.org)

Colleen McCann (PhD CUNY 1995; Curator, Mammals Dept, Wildlife Conservation Society) Conservation biology, primate socioendocrinology, behav ecol; Africa, Central America (cmccann@wcs.org)

Karen Milek (PhD, Cambridge, 2006; Lecturer, Archaeology, Aberdeen) Settlement arch, soc arch of houses, migration, Viking & Medieval ages, 18th-19th c.; N Atlantic (k.milek@abdn.ac.uk)

A. Reg. Murphy (PhD, Calgary, 1999; Archaeologist/Director/Curator, National Parks, Antigua) Pre-Columbian societies, British military & naval arch ; Caribbean (regmurphy@hotmail.com)

Anthony J Newton (PhD, Edinburgh, 1999; Teaching/Research Fellow, GeoSciences, Edinburgh U) tephrochronol, geomorphol, internet resources; N Atlantic; Mexico (anthony.newton@ed.ac.uk)

Michael Novacek (PhD Berkeley 1978; Curator, Dept of Vertebrate Paleontology, American Museum of Natural History) Paleontology, biogeog, evolutionary primatology; North America, East Asia (novacek@amnh.org)

Astrid Ogilvie (PhD E Anglia 1982; Fellow, INSTAAR) Climate & environmental change, soc & hum history of North Atlantic (Astrid.Ogilvie@colorado.edu)

John G Robinson (PhD UNC-Chapel Hill 1977; VP, International Progs Dept, Wildlife Conservation Society) Conservation biology, behavioral ecology (wildcons@aol.com)

F. James Rohlf (PhD U Kansas 1962; Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Ecology & Evolution, and Research Professor, Department of Anthropology, SUNY Stony Brook) Geometric morphometrics, computer applications in systematics and ecology (rohlf@life.bio.sunysb.edu)

Ian A. Simpson (PhD U Strathclyde 1985; Professor, Dept of Environmental Sciences, Deputy Principal-Research, U Stirling, Scotland) Geoarch, environmental history, micromorphology, site formation, early arable soils, grazing & land degradation; North Atlantic, S Asia, Sahelian Africa (i.a.simpson@findhorn.stir.ac.uk)

Katherine St. John (PhD UCLA 1995; Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Hunter College, Department of Computer Science and Anthropology, Graduate Center) Computational biology, phylogenetic tree reconstruction algorithms, analyzing / clustering / visualizing phylogenies (katherine.stjohn@hunter.cuny.edu)

Ian Tattersall (PhD Yale 1971; Curator, Dept of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History) Paleoanthropology, evolutionary primatology, primate ecology; Madagascar, Old World (iant@amnh.org)

John Van Couvering (PhD Cambridge 1971; Research Associate, Department of Vertebrate Paleontology, American Museum of Natural History) Biochronology, stratigraphic geology; Africa (vancja@gmail.com)

Orri Vésteinsson (PhD U London 1996; Lecturer, Arch, U Iceland) Icelandic archaeology, history; North Atlantic (orri@instarch.is)

Peter Whiteley (PhD U New Mexico 1982; Curator, Anthropology Dept, American Museum of Natural History) Society, history, polity, ritual & symbolism; Native North America (whiteley@amnh.org)

James Woollett (PhD CUNY 2003; Asst Prof, U Laval) Arch, zooarch; E Arctic, N Atlantic (james.woollett@hst.ulaval.ca)