Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 
 

Emeritus Faculty

 

Talal Asad (PhD Oxford 1968; Distinguished Professor Emeritus) Religion and secularism, Islamic traditions, political theories; Middle East (tasad@gc.cuny.edu)

Daniel Bates (PhD U Michigan 1971; Professor Emeritus) Ecological studies, economic and political anthropology; East European minority populations; Middle East (dbates@hunter.cuny.edu)

Edward Bendix (PhD Columbia 1965; Professor Emeritus) Linguistics, sociolinguistics, semantics/pragmatics, languages in contact, creole languages; Africa and Caribbean, South Asia (ebendix@gc.cuny.edu )

Leigh Binford (PhD U Connecticut 1983; Professor Emeritus) Political economy, migration & development, anthropology of violence, temporary foreign worker programs, Mexico, Central America (arthur.binford@csi.cuny.edu)

Warren DeBoer (PhD Berkeley 1972; Professor Emeritus) Ethnoarchaeology; South America(warren.deboer@qc.cuny.edu)

Edgar Gregersen (PhD Yale 1962; Professor Emeritus) Linguistics, cultural anthropology, sexology; Africa (egregrsn@aol.com )

Edward Hansen (PhD Michigan 1969; Professor Emeritus) Ethnology, anthropology of business, social stratification; Europe, Latin America, US (edwardchansen@aol.com)

Gregory Johnson (PhD Michigan 1972; Professor Emeritus) Complex societies, quantitative analysis; Near East (gjohnson@hunter.cuny.edu)

Maria Lagos (PhD Columbia 1988; Professor Emerita) Cultural anthropology, political economy, gender and ethnic relations; Latin America Andean region (maria.lagos@lehman.cuny.edu)

Susan H Lees (PhD U Michigan 1970; Professor Emerita) Cultural anthropology, human ecology, economic anthropology,religion; Mesoamerica, North America, Middle East (slees@hunter.cuny.edu)

Shirley Lindenbaum (MA U Sydney 1970; Professor Emerita) Ethnology, medical anthropology, symbolism; Oceania, Bangladesh (shirleylindenbaum@gmail.com)

Sally McLendon (PhD UC Berkeley 1966; Professor Emerita) Linguistics, narrative analysis, ethnohistory; material culture, redocumenting museum collections, exhibits; North American Indian peoples (smclendo@hunter.cuny.edu)

Joan Mencher (PhD Columbia 1958; Professor Emerita) Cultural anthropology, environment and sustainable agriculture, gender, development, socio-economic development; South Asia (joan.mencher@gmail.com)

Leith Mullings (PhD Chicago 1975; Distinguished Professor Emerita) Globalization, urbanism, medical anthropology, gender, race, ethnicity, social movements; United States urban populations, Africa (lmullings@gc.cuny.edu)

June Nash (PhD Chicago 1960; Distinguished Professor Emerita) Social anthropology, modernization, anthropology of work; Bolivia, Mexico (junenash27@gmail.com)

John Oates (PhD U London 1974; Professor) Primate ecology and social organization, tropical forest ecology; West Africa, India (joates@hunter.cuny.edu)

Burton Pasternak (PhD Columbia 1967; Professor Emeritus) Social organization, ecology; China

Alfred L. Rosenberger (PhD CUNY 1979; Professor Emeritus) Primate evolution, New World monkeys; New World, South and Central America (alfredr@brooklyn.cuny.edu)

Jane Schneider (PhD U Michigan 1965; Professor Emerita) Political economy, material culture, social movements; Mediterranean, Europe (jschneider@gc.cuny.edu)

Gerald Sider (PhD New School for Social Research 1971; Professor Emeritus) Historical anthropology of capital/class/culture in North Atlantic, production of race/state; North America (gsider2@gmail.com)

Sara Stinson (PhD Michigan 1978; Professor Emerita) Human growth/development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology; South America (sara.stinson@qc.cuny.edu)

Frederick Szalay (PhD Columbia 1967; Professor Emeritus) Evolutionary theory, evolutionary history and morphology of fossil and living primates, mammalian systematics

Katherine Verdery (PhD Stanford University 1977; Professor Emerita) Property relations, socialism & postsocialism, ideological processes; Eastern Europe (kverdery@gc.cuny.edu)