Show The Graduate Center Menu



The Ph.D. Program in Biochemistry, established in 1967, is consortial in nature, with faculty members drawn principally from the senior CUNY colleges. All research laboratories are located on the college campuses. The senior colleges that participate in the doctoral biochemistry program are: Brooklyn College, City College, Hunter College, The College of Staten Island, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Lehman College, Queens College and York College.

Lecture courses and basic seminars are given at The Graduate Center in Manhattan, whereas laboratory courses, advanced seminars and thesis research take place on the campuses where doctoral students serve an important function as instructors of undergraduate laboratory courses in biochemistry, biology, and chemistry. Students may also specialize in Molecular Biophysics.


The City University of New York
is the nation's leading public urban university. It is comprised of ten senior colleges, six community colleges, a technical college, a graduate school, a law school, and a medical school. With a full-time teaching faculty of 5,600 and close to 100 research centers and institutes, The City University of New York ranks among the country's major research institutions.

Approximately 200,000 students are currently registered at the City University of New York. This includes both full time graduate and undergraduate students enrolled in credit-bearing courses. Another 200,000 are enrolled in adult and continuing education programs.