Show The Graduate Center Menu

Colloquium - Fall 2018

Each colloquium is held on Wednesday at 4:15 P.M. All colloquia will take place at the Graduate Center in rooms 9204/9205 except as otherwise noted. Please call (212) 817-8615 for further information.


September 12Jonathan Adler Memorial Lecture
Paul Boghossian (NYU)
“Normativity, Objectivity and the A Priori”

September 19: No Colloquium (No Classes Scheduled)

September 26
Pierre Destrée (Université Catholique de Louvain)
“Aristotle on the Philosophical Value of Humor and Laughter”
October 3 Black Rights/White Wrongs Book Panel
Charles Mills (CUNY Graduate Center)
“Racial Justice”
      Frank Kirkland (CUNY Hunter College)
      John Pittman (CUNY John Jay College)

October 10
Carole Talon-Hugon (Université Nice)
“History of Art as History of the Idea of Art”
October 17
Edouard Machery (University of Pittsburgh)
“De-Freuding Implicit Attitudes”
October 24
Otávio Bueno (University of Miami)
“Non-Individuals: Metaphysical, Logical and Mathematical Underdetermination”
October 31
Derk Pereboom (Cornell University)
“Russellian Monism, Introspective Inaccuracy and the Meta-Problem of Consciousness”
November 7
Michael Brownstein (CUNY John Jay College)
“Understanding Implicit Bias: Putting the Criticism into Perspective”
November 14
Elisabeth Lloyd (Indiana University)
“Choices of Values in Attributions of Climate Change to Extreme Climate Events”
November 21
Santiago Echeverri (NYU)
“First-Person Reference and Functional Role”
November 28
Umrao Sethi (CUNY Lehman College)
“Varieties of Instantiation”
December 5Alumni Day Lecture
Rosemary Twomey (CUNY Queens College)
“Teleology in Aristotle's Epistemology”


Download an interactive PDF version of the schedule here.


Contact Us


Philosophy Program, The Graduate Center, CUNY

365 Fifth Ave., Rm. 7113
New York, NY 10016
Phone: 212-817-8615
Executive Officer: Prof. Nickolas Pappas
Deputy Executive Officer: Prof. John Greenwood
Director of Admissions: Prof. Jesse Prinz
Director of Placement: Prof. Kate Ritchie
Assistant Program Officer: Natile Clarke