Show The Graduate Center Menu
Program News Admissions Events Program Newsletter Student Handbook


Faculty Books

 

 
 

About Our Program

The Political Science program at the Graduate Center, CUNY consists of a community of scholars dedicated to the tasks of acquiring, expanding, and transmitting reliable knowledge about political phenomena. Its essential function is to educate professional political scientists, capable of independent research and qualified for careers in academic institutions, government agencies, non-profit organizations, and the private sector.

The Ph.D. and M.A. Programs in Political Science offers three degree programs and features courses in five subfields:

• American Politics
• Comparative Politics
• International Relations
• Political Theory
• Public Policy

In addition, students can specialize in Writing Politics, which trains them to write serious political analysis for an audience outside of the discipline. While the Ph.D. and M.A. Programs feature a diversity of approaches, all students are expected to specialize in and develop an understanding of the discipline as a whole.

If you are a former student of the program and you are interested in apply for readmission, click here for further information about the process.

Contacts

 

Alyson Cole, Executive Officer
Email: acole@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670
Spring 2020 Virtual Hours (Remote):  (Wednesday, 11am-1pm via Zoom)

 

 

Charles Tien, Deputy Executive Officer
Email: ctien@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670
Spring 2020 Virtual Hours (Remote): Wednesday, 4pm-6pm (Click here to enter portal for DEO virtual office hours)

 

Michael Fortner, M.A. Advisor
Email: mfortner@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670
Spring 2020 Office Hours (Remote): Wednesday, 4:00pm-6:00pm via Zoom (Click here for enter chat room during office hours)

 

Peter Liberman, Program Admissions Chair
E-mail: pliberman@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670
Spring 2020 Office Hours (Remote via E-mail): Wednesday, 2pm-4pm or by appointment.

 


Philip Johnson, M.A. Writing Fellow
Email: pjohnson@gradcenter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670
Spring 2020 Office Hours (Remote via E-mail): Tuesday, 4pm-6pm & Wednesday, 6pm-8pm

 

Earl Fleary, Assistant Program Officer
Email: efleary@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-817-8670