Show The Graduate Center Menu
 

About Our Program

The Political Science program at the Graduate Center, CUNY consists of a community of scholars dedicated to the tasks of acquiring, expanding, and transmitting reliable knowledge about political phenomena. Its essential function is to educate professional political scientists, capable of independent research and qualified for careers in academic institutions, government agencies, non-profit organizations, and the private sector.

The Ph.D. and M.A. Programs in Political Science offers three degree programs and features courses in five subfields:

• American Politics
• Comparative Politics
• International Relations
• Political Theory
• Public Policy

In addition, students can specialize in Writing Politics, which trains them to write serious political analysis for an audience outside of the discipline. While the Ph.D. and M.A. Programs feature a diversity of approaches, all students are expected to specialize in and develop an understanding of the discipline as a whole.

If you are a former student of the program and you are interested in apply for readmission, click here for further information about the process.

Contacts

 

Alyson Cole, Executive Officer
Email: acole@gc.cuny.edu
Mondays, 11am-1pm and by appointment

Charles Tien, Deputy Executive Officer
Email: ctien@hunter.cuny.edu
Mondays, 10am-12pm Remote: By appointment only

Forrest Colburn, M.A. Advisor
Email: fcolburn@gc.cuny.edu
Monday 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm in Room 5200.03: By appointment only.  

Peter Romaniuk, Program Admissions Chair
E-mail: promaniuk@gc.cuny.edu
Tuesdays, from 10am-noon Remote: By appointment only.

Radhika Kashyap, College Assistant 
Email: 
rkashyap2@gc.cuny.edu

Theresa Moses, College Assistant
Email: tmoses@gc.cuny.edu