Show The Graduate Center Menu

Sociology: 2008-10 Faculty Awards

Prof. Pyong Gap Min received a "Stand Up for Justice Award" from MinKwon Center for Community Action, a powerful minority (Korean) civil rights organization that has been vigorously fighting for immigrant and workers' rights for many years. He was one of the three recipients of the award this year, and the other two were non-Korean community activists. He also received a Life-Time Achievement Award from the Korean Association of New York in May this year on the occasion of its fifty-year anniversary.

Prof. Jock Young was awarded the 2009 Distinguished Book Award of the International Division of the American Society of Criminology for Cultural Criminology :An Invitation, London, Sage, 2008, coauthored with Jeff Ferrell and Keith Hayward.

Prof. Pamela Stone, for her book Opting Out?, won the American Sociological Association's William J. Goode award for best book in family sociology.

Prof. Emeritus Setsuko Nishi was honored with the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon on June 5 at the residence of Ambassador Shinichi Nishimiya, Consul General of New York. The award is in honor of “outstanding and lifelong contributions to the promotion of civil rights, sociological study and the well-being of Japanese Americans and others."

The Eastern Sociological Society has named Prof. William Kornblum the 2008-09 Robin L. Williams, Jr. Lecturer.

Profs. Paul Attewell and David Lavin have won the Grawemeyer Liberal Arts Award for their book, Passing the Torch: Does Higher Education for the Disadvantaged Pay Off Across the Generations? (Russell Sage Foundation, 2007).

Robert C. Smith won a coveted John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship for his project, “America's Cruel Experiment with Its Undocumented Students."

Paul Attewell
and David Lavin received the Outstanding Book Award for 2009 from the American Educational Research Association for their book, Passing the Torch: Does Higher Education for the Disadvantaged Pay Off Across the Generations? (Russell Sage Foundation, 2007). The duo were also selected to receive a $200,000 award from the Grawemeyer Foundation in 2008.
Prof. Cynthia Fuchs Epstein was the keynote speaker at the international “After the JD” conference at the Harvard University Law School, May 1-2, 2009.

Profs. Philip Kasinitz and John Mollenkopf won the 2009 Mirra Komarovsky Award, the book award of the Eastern Sociological Society, for their book (with Mary Waters and Jennifer Holdaway) Inheriting the City.

Dist.Prof. Richard Alba was selected as the 2009 ESS Merit Award Winner. Alba has not only served the Eastern Sociological Society as president from 1997-98 but also in various capacities as presenter to committee member. His lifetime academic contributions to sociology place him among the most distinguished scholars in the profession. He has published numerous books and articles and garnered prestigious grants. His ideas have advanced the thinking and research in the areas of international migration, race, and ethnicity and he has influenced a generation of Sociologists.

Robert Smith (2008 Distinguished Book Award, from the American Sociological Association) received the 2008 Distinguished Book Award, from the American Sociological Association, for his book Mexican New York. This fascinating book drew on a decade’s worth of fieldwork in New York and Mexico. 

Submitted on: JAN 1, 2009

Category: Faculty Awards | Sociology