Show The Graduate Center Menu
 
 

Faculty

Name

College & Department

Contact

Abrahamian, Ervand

Baruch, GC - History

Area of Interest: Iran

ervand_abrahamian@baruch.cuny.edu
212-802-3046

Akasoy, Anna

Hunter, GC - Classical & Oriental Studies

Area of Interest: Islamic Intellectual History, contacts between the Islamic world and other cultures, al-Andalus

aa739@hunter.cuny.edu

Alcalay, Ammiel

Queens, GC - Classical, M.E. & Asian Languages

Area of Interest: Hebrew, Comparative Literature of M.E.

ammiel.alcalay@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5571

Alessandrini, Anthony

Kingsborough - English

Area of Interest: Arabic and Turkish Literature; Postcolonial Studies

tonyalessandrini@gmail.com
718-368-5849

Asad, Talal

GC - Anthropology

Area of Interest: Religion, Egypt, Sudan.

talalasad@earthlink.net
212-642-2266

Baron, Beth Director MES

City, GC - History

Area of Interest: Egypt, Gender, Social Politics

bbaron@gc.cuny.edu
212-817-7574

Bauer, Alexander A.

Queens, GC - Anthropology

Area of Interest: Archaeology, Material Culture, Interaction and Trade

alexander.bauer@gc.cuny.edu
718- 997-5517

Blum, Stephen

GC - Music

Area of Interest: Iran, Ethnomusicology

sblum@gc.cuny.edu
212-817-8609

Bozorgmehr, Mehdi

City, GC - Sociology

Area of Interest: Middle Eastern Americans (including Iranians)

mbozorgmehr@gc.cuny.edu
(212) 650-5852

Carlson, Marvin

GC - Theatre

Area of Interest: M.E. theater performance

Mcarlson@gc.cuny.edu
212-817-8877

Chetrit, Sami S.

Queens - Classical, M.E. & Asian Languages

Area of Interest: Hebrew language & literature, Mizrahi literature, Film

schetrit@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5574

Daigle, Craig

City - History

Area of Interest: Arab-Israeli conflict

cdaigle@ccny.cuny.edu
212-650-7469

Davis, Simon

Bronx Community, GC - History

Area of Interest: Persian Gulf

simon.davis@bcc.cuny.edu
718-289-5677

Dekel, Mikhal

City - English

Area of Interest: Nationalism, Diaspora, Hebrew

mdekel@ccny.cuny.edu
212-650-6305

Elinson, Alexander

Hunter, GC - Classical and Oriental Studies

Area of Interest: Arabic and Hebrew Literature

aelinson@hunter.cuny.edu
212-772-5044

Flores Khalil, Andrea

Queens, GC - Comparative Literature

Area of Interest: North Africa

Andrea.Khalil@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5684

Frangakis-Syrett, Elena

Queens, GC - History

Area of Interest: Ottoman Turkey, Greece, Syria, Economic relations with West, 18-20th Centuries

elena.frangakis-syrett@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5354

Gerber, Jane

GC - Sephardic Studies

Area of Interest: Jews of Spain & North Africa

gerberjs@aol.com
212-817-1946

Greble, Emily

City - History

Area of Interest: Bosnia, Balkans, Islam and Europe

ebalic@ccny.cuny.edu
212-650-7457

Haj, Samira

Staten Island, GC - History

Area of Interest: Iraq

samirahaj@nyc.rr.com
718-982-2866

Heilman, Samuel

Queens, GC - Sociology

Area of Interest: Comparative Religious Fundamentalism, Israel

samuel.heilman@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-2832

Lazreg, Marnia

Hunter, GC - Sociology

Area of Interest: Islam, Gender, Politics, Cultural Movements, and Colonial History

mlazreg@hunter.cuny.edu
212-772-5570

LeGall, Dina
Deputy Director

Lehman, GC - History

Area of Interest: Ottoman, Sufism

dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu

Limbert, Mandana

Queens, GC - Anthropology

Area of Interest: Oman, Arab Societies, Memory, Religion, Modernity, Colonialism

mandana.limbert@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5526

Rossabi, Morris

Queens, GC - History

Area of Interest: Islamic Central Asia, Xinjiang, Sino-Iranian relations

morris.rossabi@qc.cuny.edu
718-997-5382

Salamandra, Christa

Leghman, GC - Anthropology

Area of Interest: Arab Media, Persian Gulf, Syria

Christa.salamandra@lehman.cuny.edu
718-960-8405

Schwedler, Jillian

Hunter - Political Science

Area of Interest: Contentious Politics, Political Islam, Jordan, Yemen

jill.schwedler@hunter.cuny.edu

Segal, Miryam

Queens - Classics, Middle Eastern and Asian Languages and cultures

Area of Interest: Heberew and Comparative Literature

msegal@qc.cuny.edu
812-997-5570

Shannon, Jonathan

Hunter, GC - Anthropology

Area of Interest: Syria/Morocco, Ethnomusicology, Aesthetics

jonathan.shannon@hunter.cuny.edu
212-772-5452

Stone, Christopher

Hunter, GC - Classical and Oriental Studies

Area of Interest: Arabic Literature, Popular Culture in Egypt/Lebanon

cst@hunter.cuny.edu
212-650-3138

Turner, Bryan

GC - Sociology

Area of Interest: Religion

bturner@gc.cuny.edu
212-817-2056

Sugarman, Jane

GC - Music

Area of Interest: Ethnomusicology, Southeast Europe, Diaspora communities, Gender

jsugarman@gc.cuny.edu
212-817-8590

Veeser, Aram

City - English

Area of Interest: Autobiographical Literature

veeserh@aol.com
212-650-6315

Waxman, Dov

Baruch, GC - Political Science

Area of Interest: Israel, Turkey, Int'l Relations in the M.E.

dov_waxman@baruch.cuny.edu
646-312-4421