Psychology: Student Honors, Awards, Publications, and Other Activities

Virginia Andersen (Clinical Psychology) received the Vera S. Paster Community Service Award. (posted 9-2011)

Sara Appleby and Nick Colombino (Forensic Psychology) both won competitive Student Travel Awards, administered by the American Psychology-Law Society (APLS). (posted 9-2011)

Zoe Berko (Clinical Psychology) received the David Ertel Award for Outstanding Psychotherapy Work with Children. (posted 9-2011)

Emily Bly (Clinical Psychology) received the I. H. Paul Dissertation Award. (posted 9-2011)

Caroline Crocker (Forensic Psychology) received second place in the American Psychology-Law Society’s Dissertation Award competition for her dissertation titled “An Investigation of the Psychological Processes Involved in Juror Rehabilitation.” (posted 9-2011)

Rachel Liebert (Social-Personality Psychology) received a $20,000 International Fellowship for the 2011–12 academic year from the American Association of University Women (AAUW). She also won the Sigmund Koch Award for the best student paper presented at the 2011 International Society for Theoretical Psychology (ISTP) conference. Her paper was titled “Psy Technologies, Risk, and Freedom: Doing Madness Under Securitization.” (posted 9-2011)

Wen Liu (Social-Personality Psychology) was awarded an Asian Pacific Islander Queer Women & Transgender Community (APIQWTC) scholarship. The APIQWTC, a nonprofit consortium of more than fifteen organizations in California, provides support for those pursuing higher education in the technical and professional fields. (posted 9-2011)

Thailyn Lopez, Andrea Rodriguez, and Michelle West (Forensic Psychology) each received an award for their student presentations at the Second Annual All-Psychology Student Research Day on April 1 at the Graduate Center. (posted 9-2011)

Jennifer Perillo (Forensic Psychology) won a cash prize and the Outstanding Student Paper Award for “Perpetrator Memory: Better than the Eyewitness?” from the American Psychology-Law Society’s Student Section. She also won a travel award from the Minority Affairs Committee. (posted 9-2011)

Submitted on: SEP 9, 2011

Category: Psychology | Student News