Title IX Awareness

The Graduate Center seeks to create and maintain a safe environment in which all members of our campus community students, faculty, and staff can learn and work free from fear of sexual assault and other forms of violence. The City University of New York and the Graduate Center prohibit gender-based harassment of any kind, by students, faculty, and staff. Harassment is unwelcome conduct that may include sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or physical conduct of a sexual nature. Harassing conduct, also implicated by sexual assault, domestic and intimate partner violence, or stalking on any CUNY campus, creates a “hostile environment” which, when sufficiently severe or pervasive, may limit or interfere with a student’s ability to participate in educational activities, or an employee’s ability to perform his or her job.

Click here for CUNY's Policy on Sexual Misconduct. To view videos about policy highlights, getting involved and consent go to: 


Quick Links
 


Title IX Curriculum for Students (Revised October 12, 2017)
Title IX Curriculum for Employees (Revised August 2017)


If you experience or observe any of the following at the Graduate Center (or on any CUNY campus):

  • sexual assault or violence (if you are the recent victim of sexual assault, click here);
  • unwelcome sexual advances;
  • requests for sexual favors;
  • other verbal, nonverbal, or physical conduct of a sexual nature;
  • harassing conduct due to gender, gender identity, or gender orientation;
  • dating or domestic violence;
  • physical, cyber, or electronic stalking; and/or
  • unwanted physical conduct of any sort;

contact one of the following Graduate Center officials (or respective CUNY campus representative, listed under “Title IX Coordinators” below) immediately. The Graduate Center will initiate an investigation and take prompt steps to end the harassment.  

Graduate Center Title IX Coordinator
Edith Rivera, Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Coordinator
365 Fifth Avenue, Room 7301
212-817-7410
ComplianceDiversity@gc.cuny.edu

Graduate Center Public Safety
John Flaherty, Director of Public Safety
365 Fifth Avenue, Room 9117
212-817-7761
JFlaherty@gc.cuny.edu

Graduate Center Student Affairs
Matthew Schoengood, Vice President for Student Affairs
365 Fifth Avenue, Room 7301
212-817-7400
MSchoengood@gc.cuny.edu

Graduate Center Office of Human Resources
Ella Kiselyuk, Executive Director of Human Resources
365 Fifth Avenue, Room 8403
212-817-7700
EKiselyuk@gc.cuny.edu

When an assault occurs off campus, call 911 or go to the local NYPD precinct.

The Graduate Center offers services such as medical care and counseling; changes to work assignments, academic programs, or residential housing arrangements; and security escorts. Public Safety can assist you in filing a report with the NYPD. Every effort will be made to limit shared information only to those who need to investigate the situation and provide the assistance you need. Should you wish to speak to someone confidentially, please call Dr. Robert Hatcher, Director of the Wellness Center, at 212-817-7020.

Title IX Coordinators

Campus Name Phone Email
Baruch College Mona Jha (646) 312-4542 diversity@
baruch.cuny.edu
BMCC Odelia Levy (212) 220-1236 olevy@
bmcc.cuny.edu
Bronx CC Jesenia Minier-Delgado (718) 289-5288 jesenia.minier-delgado@
bcc.cuny.edu
Brooklyn College Patricio Jimenez (718) 951-5000 patricio.jimenez@
brooklyn.cuny.edu
Central Office Michael Valente (646) 664-3310 michael.valente@
cuny.edu
City College Michele Baptiste (212) 650-6310 mbaptiste@
ccny.cuny.edu
CSI Danielle Dimitrov (718) 982-2250 danielle.dimitrov@
csi.cuny.edu
CUNY Law Raquel Gabriel (718) 340-4249 raquel.gabriel@
law.cuny.edu
Graduate Center Edith Rivera (212) 817-7410 erivera@
gc.cuny.edu
Guttman CC Arlene Peterson (646) 313-8825
arlene.peterson@
guttman.cuny.edu
Hostos CC Lauren Gretina (718) 518-4284 lgretina@
hostos.cuny.edu
Hunter College John Rose (212) 650-3262 john.rose@
hunter.cuny.edu
John Jay College Silvia Montalban (646) 557-4409 smontalban@
jjay.cuny.edu
Kingsborough CC Victoria Ajibade (718) 368-6896 victoria.ajibade@
kbcc.cuny.edu
LaGuardia CC Christopher Carozza (718) 482-5088 ccarozza@
lagcc.cuny.edu
Lehman College Dawn Ewing-Morgan (718) 960-8111 dawn.ewing-morgan@ lehman.cuny.edu
Macaulay Honors College Vanessa Iaffa (212) 729-2948 vanessa.iaffa@ mhc.cuny.edu
Medgar Evers College Sylvia Kinard (718) 270-6936 sthompson@
mec.cuny.edu
NYCCT Patricia Cody (718) 260-4985 pcody@
citytech.cuny.edu
Queens College Cynthia Rountree (718) 997-5536 cynthia.rountree@
qc.cuny.edu
Queensborough CC Belinda Delgado (718) 281-5755 bdelgado@
qcc.cuny.edu
York College Alicia Franqui (718) 262-2137 afranqui@
york.cuny.edu
School of Professional Studies Christopher Leydon (646) 664-8616 christopher.leydon@
cuny.edu
School of Journalism Amy Dunkin (646) 758-7826 amy.dunkin@
journalism.cuny.edu