Biophysics: Searching for Principles

Wednesday, September 14 — Friday, September 16, 2022

1201: Elebash Recital Hall

Open to the Public

Conference celebrating the work and legacy of biophysicist William Bialek with guest speakers comprised of leading theorists and experimentalists from around the world working at the intersection of physics and biology.

Admission Price



To attend the conference, register here (deadline August 15).

Biophysics: Searching for Principles, a 3-day conference surveying achievements at the interface of theoretical physics and biology, will bring together world leaders in theoretical biophysics, experts on the educational challenges in the field, and notable theorists from other fields in physics. The conference also celebrates the achievements of William Bialek, founder of the Initiative for the Theoretical Sciences and co-director of the Center for the Physics of Biological Function, a joint effort of Princeton University and the CUNY Graduate Center.


Steven Block, Stanford University
Naama Brenner, Technion, Israel
Curtis Callan, Princeton University
Andrea Cavagna, Institute for Complex Systems, Rome, Italy
Lucy Colwell, University of Cambridge
Michael Desai, Harvard University
Adrienne Fairhall, University of Washington
Irene Giardina, Sapienza University, Rome, Italy
Thomas Gregor, Princeton University
Steven Kivelson, Stanford University
Judith Klinman, UC Berkeley
Marcelo Magnasco, Rockefeller University
Marc Mezard, ENS, Paris, France
Jose Onuchic, Rice University
Leslie Osborne, Duke University
Stephanie Palmer, University of Chicago
Robert de Ruyter van Steveninck, Indiana University
Elad Schneidman, Weizmann Institute, Israel
Tatiana Sharpee, Salk Institute
Greg Stephens, Vrije University, Amsterdam
David Tank, Princeton University
Gasper Tkacik, IST, Austria
Massimo Vergassola, ENS, Paris, France
and others TBA

Roundtable Discussants:

Blaise Arcas y Aguera, Google
Eve Marder, Brandeis University
Phil Nelson, University of Pennsylvania
Fernando Pereira, Google
Marc Potters, CFM
Eva-Maria Schoetz, Swarthmore College
Boris Shraiman, KITP, UC Santa Barbara
Steven Strong
Alessandro Treves, SISSA, Trieste, Italy
Eric Wieschaus, Princeton University
Chris Wiggins, Columbia University / NYT
and others TBA

We are grateful for support from the National Science Foundation for making this conference possible.