Alumni Awards

We honor Graduate Center alumni for their accomplishments and contributions with our Alumni Achievement Awards. You are encouraged to nominate exceptional alumni for consideration! Learn more about our past winners below.


  • Carrie Rebora Barratt (Ph.D. ’90, Art History), Interim Director, LongHouse Reserve; former CEO and President, The New York Botanical Garden; former Deputy Director, The Met; former Curator of American Art, The Met
  • Linda H. Malkas (Ph.D. ’85, Biochemistry), M.T. & B.A. Ahmadinia Professor in Molecular Oncology; Dean, Translational Science, External Affairs, City of Hope National Medical Center; Professor, Molecular Diagnostics and Experimental Therapeutics, Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope


  • Nelson J. Flores (Ph.D. ’12, Urban Education), is an associate professor in educational linguistics at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education and affiliated faculty with the Center for Latin American and Latinx Studies. He is also the Director of the Ph.D. program in educational linguistics, the faculty advisor for the Working Papers in Educational Linguistics, the chair of the Penn Faculty Senate Committee on Faculty Development, Diversity and Equity and co-chair of the Penn GSE Subcommittee on Faculty and Student Diversity.
  • Patricia A. Stapleton (Ph.D. ’12, Political Science), Political Scientist, RAND Corporation


2019 Alumni Achievement Award recipients:

  • James Giordano (Ph.D. ’87, Psychology – Biopsychology), Chief of the Neuroethics Studies Program and Scholar-in-Residence in the Pellegrino Center for Clinical Bioethics; Professor in the Departments of Neurology and Biochemistry at Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Maggie Nelson (Ph.D. ’04, English), Poet, critic, and nonfiction writer; Professor of English, University of Southern California

2019 Graduate of the Last Decade Award (GOLD) recipients:

  • Amy E. Hughes (Ph.D. ’09, Theatre), Associate Professor, Theater History & Criticism, Brooklyn College
  • Nandini Sikand (Ph.D. ’10, Anthropology), Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies, Lafayette College

2019 City University of New York (CUNY) Award recipients:

  • Ardie Walser (Ph.D. ’91, Engineering – Electrical), Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, Electrical Engineering, Grove School of Engineering, The City College of New York
  • Cindy R. Lobel (Ph.D. ’03, History), Posthumous Award, Former Assistant Professor of History, Lehman College; and Former Professor, Liberal Studies, The Graduate Center and Macaulay Honors College

2017 Alumni Achievement Award recipients:

  • Perry N. Halkitis (Ph.D. ’95, Educational Psychology), Dean and Professor, Biostatistics & Social and Behavioral Health Sciences, Medicine, Applied Psychology, and Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers School of Public Health | For his academic leadership and important contributions to our understanding of HIV/AIDS, drug abuse, and mental health disease
  • Michael P. Jacobson (Ph.D. ’86, Sociology), Founder and Executive Director, CUNY Institute for State & Local Governance | For his outstanding contributions to promoting good and just governments

2017 Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD) Award recipient:

  • Maya Hess (Ph.D. ’14, Criminal Justice), Founder and CEO of Red T, a non-profit organization dedicated to the protection of translators and interpreters in conflict zones and other high-risk settings | For her outstanding humanitarian and educational work

2017 City University of New York (CUNY) Award recipients:

  • William Seraile (Ph.D. ’77, History), Professor Emeritus of African American History, Lehman College | For his outstanding scholarly contributions and dedication to CUNY
  • Edward Smaldone (Ph.D. ’86, Music Composition), Professor of Music Theory and Composition. Past Director, Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College | For his outstanding scholarly and administrative contributions and dedication to CUNY

2016 Alumni Achievement Award recipients:

  • Paul Mariani (Ph.D. ’68, English), Distinguished Professor Emeritus Professor of Poetry at Boston College, for his lifetime achievement in biography, poetry, memoir, and teaching
  • Jacquelyn Days Serwer (Ph.D. ’81, Art History), Chief Curator, Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, for her achievements at this new museum

2016 Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD) Award recipient:

  • Christopher Emdin (Ph.D. ’07, Urban Education), Associate Professor of Science Education, Teachers College at Columbia University, for his important research in novel contexts

2016 City University of New York (CUNY) Award recipient:

  • Betty Lee Sung (Ph.D. ’82, Sociology), Professor Emeritus of Asian-American Studies, City College, for outstanding contributions as a scholar and role model for students
Conducting research on plants

Give to the GC

Your gift demonstrates your belief in the vital importance of public higher education.

Give Now