Anne Swartz

Anne Swartz - Professor -  profile photo

Research Interests

  • Romantic music; eastern European; women composers


  • Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Anne Swartz is Professor of Music at Baruch College, the Graduate Center of CUNY, and the CUNY Honors College.  She has served as Director of Graduate Studies, Weissman School of Arts and Sciences, Baruch College. Her research interests include nineteenth and twentieth-century Russian and Polish music, especially that of Chopin, Tchaikovsky, and Karol Szymanowski; Russian romanticism; and eighteenth-century women composers.  She has conducted seminars in Russian and Polish at St. Petersburg University and the University of Warsaw and has completed archival research in Poland, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.  She has received research grants and fellowships from the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars (Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies; and East European Program), the National Endowment for the Humanities (Summer Stipend; Interpretive Grant, Special Opportunity for Archival Research; and Travel to Collections), the American Council of Learned Societies, the International Research and Exchanges Board, and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.  She received Baruch's 2001 Presidential Excellence Award for Distinguished Teaching.     


  • Technological Muses: Piano Builders in Russia, 1810-1881," Cahiers du Monde Russe (Paris, 2002)
  • "Elsner, Chopin, and Musical Narrative as Symbols of Nation," De Musica (Warsaw, 2002)
  • "Elsner and the flourishing of opera in Poland before 1830," The Polish Review (New York, 2002)
  • "The Romanov Family's Patronage of Music, 1820-1880," Encomium Musicae: Essays in  Memory of Robert J. Snow, ed. David Crawford (New York, 2002)
  • "The Intrigue of Love and Illusion in Tchaikovsky's The Oprichnik," Tchaikovsky and His Contemporaries, ed. Alexandar Mihailovic(London, 1999)
  • Composers Born 1700 to 1799. Keyboard Music. Maria Szymanowska, Vol. 3, Women Composers: Music Through the Ages, ed. Martha Furman Schleifer and Sylvia Glickman (New York and London, 1998)
  • Reprint Editions, Maria Szymanowska (Bryn Mawr, 1998); Reprint, New York and London edition. 
  • A Concise History of Russian Music (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, forthcoming).


[Photograph by Agnieszka Lukasiak]